Skip to content

A deep moment.

February 14, 2011

I am not the most Godly person in the world.  I despise when people answer problems with super churh-ey responses. I know Jesus, and there are times that I cling to Him more than others.  I don’t go to church…for many reasons, but this is just an into into a bigger story.

I know a young woman that is in prison.  She is the sister of a friend, and we spoke about her yesterday.  I haven’t really heard an update on y.w. (young woman) in years, because I always thought this friend didn’t want to talk about it.  Y.W. has a drug problem and is continually in and out of prison.  She comes from a wonderful family, has endless opportunity, but is stuck.  Her parents try so hard every time she is out to change her life, to make things better, etc.  The other siblings have struggled with anger over enabling y.w.

I understand anger.  I have a lot of anger over family members with drug/alcohol problems that CHOSE to bring children into the world, and choose everyday to give their children a fucked up life. Yes, I know what it’s like to be angry, because you can’t do anything.  I know what it’s like to hope for redemption, to wait, to know that there are things in this world that are not fair.

In talking about y.w. yesterday I SAW myself.  I am not in prison, nor have I ever been.  I sin, I fail, I make poor choices every day.  I don’t run out of chances with the Lord.  His grace and mercy are no less no matter how long I go away, and no matter what the offense is.  His love doesn’t enable me to make mistakes.  We are who we are.  There is always hope.  He did for us while we were still sinners.

WOW.

From → Ponderings

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment